PROJECT PROFILE

Al Shaheen Ruya

The third development phase of Al Shaheen expands production through nine wellhead platforms, a CPP, a riser platform and subsea infrastructure.

EPCIC execution

Project overview

Ruya is the third phase of development at Qatar’s Al Shaheen field, implemented by North Oil Company (NOC). NOC is owned 70% by QatarEnergy and 30% by TotalEnergies. The project targets approximately 100,000 bpd of additional production through nine satellite wellhead platforms, a central processing platform, a riser platform and a subsea pipeline and cable network.

QatarEnergy announced more than US$6 billion of main engineering contracts in January 2024. This is the main-contract total; individual package values are rounded disclosures. McDermott completed FEED in 2022, before execution moved into separate platform, jacket and subsea packages.

Contract packages and fabrication chain

COOEC’s 2025 performance review records completion of all first-phase pipelines under Ruya EPCI09. Its 2026 interim report also records expansion-spool loadout under EPCI09. These milestones do not mark completion of the entire project. QMW and CPOE Qingdao cooperate on EPC11 jacket fabrication, while COOEC executes the separate EPCI09 subsea package.

Package Lead contractor / consortium Principal scope
EPCI09 COOEC Subsea pipelines and cables
EPCIC11 McDermott + QMW Nine wellhead platforms and jackets
EPCIC12 Larsen & Toubro Riser platform
EPCIC13 McDermott + HD Hyundai Heavy Industries CPP, flare platform and bridges

Contract structure

Tier 1 comprises owner/operator awards and their consortium members. Tier 2 comprises major subcontractors and suppliers appointed directly by Tier 1 contractors.

Tier 1 | Direct contracts

Direct client / awarding party Contractor / consortium member Scope
North Oil Company McDermott International, Ltd. Pre-FEED, FEED and brownfield engineering; FEED completed in 2022.
North Oil Company McDermott International, Ltd. McDermott/QMW consortium: nine satellite wellhead platforms and jackets in two offshore campaigns.
North Oil Company Qingdao McDermott Wuchuan Offshore Engineering Company Ltd. McDermott/QMW consortium: nine satellite wellhead platforms and jackets in two offshore campaigns.
North Oil Company McDermott International, Ltd. McDermott/HHI consortium: 25,000-tonne central processing platform, flare platform and bridges.
North Oil Company HD Hyundai Heavy Industries McDermott/HHI consortium: 25,000-tonne central processing platform, flare platform and bridges.
North Oil Company Larsen & Toubro Limited EPCIC contractor for the Ruya riser-platform package.
North Oil Company Offshore Oil Engineering Co., Ltd. Direct NOC contractor for pipelines and cables under EPCI09; first-phase pipeline laying completed in 2025. Expansion-spool loadout completed in the first half of 2026.

Tier 2 | Major subcontracts

Direct client / awarding party Contractor / consortium member Scope
COOEC Qatar Shipyard Technology Solutions Awarded the Ruya Batch 1 EPCI09 fabrication contract by COOEC; component quantities undisclosed.
Larsen & Toubro Innovative Synergy Solutions Supplies L&T with a 5,230 m³/h seawater ultrafiltration package, including design, fabrication, testing and commissioning.
COOEC CRC Evans Welding services awarded by COOEC for Ruya Batch 1 EPCI09.

Other fabrication participants | Contract tier undisclosed

Direct client / awarding party Contractor / consortium member Scope
Not disclosed CNPC Offshore Engineering (Qingdao) Co., Ltd. Cooperation with QMW on Ruya EPC11 jacket fabrication. The cooperation is described in QMW’s 4 September 2026 release; the direct legal award relationship is not stated.
Not disclosed Shenzhen Chiwan Sembawang Engineering Co., Ltd. Ruya CPP jacket and pile fabrication, listed in the company’s project profile. Direct awarding entity undisclosed.
Not disclosed Offshore Oil Engineering Co., Ltd. China Chemical Industry News reports that COOEC Qingdao builds 46 CPP structural units and selected piping, electrical and instrumentation works, with loadout securing and sea transport; the direct awarding entity is not disclosed.

Related developments

North Field East (NFE) | North Field West (NFW)

Sources

CNPC: 2025 annual report; COOEC: 2025 performance review; China Chemical Industry News: Ruya CPP fabrication; COOEC: 2026 interim report; CRC Evans: Ruya EPCI09 welding; CSE: company project profile; ISS: seawater filter package; L&T: 2025/26 annual report; TotalEnergies: NOC ownership; QatarEnergy: 2024 annual review; QMW company release, 4 September 2026; Qatar Shipyard: company announcement; QNA: Ruya contract awards; QNA: Ruya main contract awards (English); McDermott: Ruya FEED; McDermott: Ruya EPCIC11/13;